Special Needs Resources

Special Needs Resources2019-08-27T17:27:33+00:00

Every day, SNAers work with other professionals who serve the disability community. In addition, many of our members have developed close relationships with organizations that assist their own loved ones with special needs. Below you’ll find a list of resources recommended by your colleagues.

Connecticut


Financial Planners

Jonathan R Root, CDFATM, CRPC®
Jonathan.r.root@ampf.com
(203) 489- 7785

Health Insurance/Medicaid Expansion/Related Tax Issues

Mike Leone
mike@aibllc.com
(860) 621- 7766

 

Illinois


Financial Planners

Dr. Irving Birnbaum
ibirnbaum@financialguide.com
(773) 725-4167

Thomas J. Canale
tom.canale@nmfn.com
(773) 380-4025

Mary Anne Ehlert
mehlert@protectedtomorrows.com
(847) 522-8086

Annette Hammortree
ahammortree@hammortreefinancial.com
(815) 788-7420

Dean Klassman
dean@klassmanfinancial.com
(847) 454-0660, ext. 106

Corey Schmidt & Zachary Larson
Thrivent Financial
corey.schmidt@thrivent.com
zachary.larson@thrivent.com
(630) 821-6990

Howard Chaim Suss
howardsuss@sussfinancial.com
(847) 674-9470, ext. 1

Michael C. Walther II
mike@oakwealth.com
(847) 945-8888

Not-for-Profit Advocacy

Civil Rights Team
https://www.equipforequality.org/about/staff-directory/

Barry C. Taylor, Vice President
barryt@equipforequality.org
(312) 895-7317

Amanda Antholt, Senior Attorney
amanda@equipforequality.org
(312) 895-7330

Laura J. Miller, Managing Attorney
laura@equipforequality.org
(312) 895-7316

Guardianship and Advocacy Commission, State of Illinois
https://www.illinois.gov/sites/gac/LAS/Pages/default.aspx https://www.illinois.gov/sites/gac/HRA/Pages/default.aspx

Shriver Center
http://povertylaw.org

Stephanie Altman, Director
Health Care Justice
stephaniealtman@povertylaw.org
(312) 789-4105

Smart Policy Works
http://www.hdadvocates.org

Special Education Attorneys

Matt Cohen
https://mattcohenandassociates.com/Attorneys.html
(866) 787-9270

Charles P. Fox
http://foxspecialedlaw.com/biographies
(847) 205-9897

Steven Glink
http://www.educationrights.com/educationrights_biography.php
(847) 480-7749

Jennifer Hansen
http://www.hansencleary.com/about/
(847) 715-2801

Michelle Brady Kowalski
http://wwww.JillDanielsLaw.com
(630) 269-9203

Mary Moran
http://www.lawforchild.com/index.php/about-us.html
(847) 926-0101

Neal E. Takiff (also represents individuals with special needs in criminal matters)
http://www.wthlawfirm.com/attorneys-staff/
(847) 564-8662

Matthew Wanzenberg, PhD, (non-attorney education advocate and consultant)
http://www.iepguardians.org
(630) 545-0234

Pepi M. Silverman, M.Ed., PhD (ABD), (non-attorney education advocate and consultant)
http://beadvocacy.com
(847) 903-7778

If unable to afford a private special education attorney or advocate, contact:

Equip for Equality Special Education Helpline
http://www.equipforequality.org
(866) 543-7046

Illinois Guardianship and Advocacy Commission, Legal Advocacy Service (LAS)
Chicago Office: (312) 793-5900
Shriver Center: (312) 263-3830 (general number)

Jennifer Doeren
jenniferdoeren@povertylaw.org
(312) 263-1006

New Jersey


Not-for-Profit Advocacy, Supports, Resources

Tools for Meeting Life’s Challenges
http://www.toolsmlc.org

John Joseph Scullin
jscullin@toolsmlc.org
(856) 594-8362

Pennsylvania


Not-for-Profit Advocacy, Supports, Resources

Tools for Meeting Life’s Challenges
http://www.toolsmlc.org

John Joseph Scullin
jscullin@toolsmlc.org
(856) 594-8362

FIND YOUR ATTORNEY